Skip to content

Double Down

May 7, 2010

To commemorate the end of my first month in America (and because my mother recently threatened me on facebook with the words “no blog, no money”) I thought I’d re-open my blog with a quick note on a monstrous phenomenon that has recently swept the States. The fast-food leviathan I am about to talk about has quickly become my own great white whale, inhabiting all my waking thoughts and  dreams. I first heard rumors of the beast on the billboards at JFK airport and since then it (or maybe even he) has been an ever-present force in my life. At first I thought that the defining moment of my trip would come down to a life-or-death battle with one of America’s grand predators such as a grizzly bear or crocodile. But all the parameters in the     age-old battle between man and beast have just been blown apart in America by a new emissary: the KFC Double Down sandwich.

Two fillets of deep-fried chicken, two pieces of bacon, two slices of cheese, the Colonel’s sauce…and no bun. “No bun?” you may ask. “So how does it…” Well let me just stop you right there captain douchebag because the two pieces of deep-fried chicken…are…the…bun!!!!!  This product is so meaty, there is no room for a bun. Everything in America that used to be clothed between two pieces of bread is now ensheathed in meat.

So there is now a strong possibility in America that the words “Double Down” may soon become an active verb…a fast-food option in the same way that one can “super-size”. “Yes I really would like to substitute all bread in that sandwich for more meat…go ahead and double down baby”. “That Maxibon ice-cream sandwich sure looks good…but if I could get those chocolate biscuits swapped with chicken breasts that would be just dandy”. It used to be that bread was the king of the table and all else merely the court…but no longer. Welcome to the Age of Meat.

So I really do intend to re-start and re-invigorate my blog in this second month. I will sit down some time over the next couple of days and draft a summary of everything that has happened since I last posted. And although I would prefer to tell everyone about what the option of getting a snow-cone “stuffed” means, I will also try and talk about travel news for my more mature audience.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lally permalink
    May 8, 2010 13:14

    I love this

  2. VespemyRekkam permalink
    May 23, 2010 03:40

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

